The West Wind Whispered


I dreamed I was fighting for my country

I dreamed of the cannon’s mighty roar

A soldier boy in blue, a dream come true

Defending my sweet homeland in a war

I dreamed of a compound on the hillside

And of a flag that fluttered in the breeze

I heard myself cry as the bullets flew by

And the west wind whispered in the trees

I’d heard that the gypsy fortune teller

Could see into the future on demand

With a sense of doom I went to her room

She told me to sit down and took my hand

‘There’s a flag that’s flying on a hillside

It has colours that flutter in the breeze

The year forty two, the soldiers in blue

And the west wind whispers in the trees’

In forty two I fought for my country

And I was proud to wear my uniform

But cried with fright in the heat of the night

As the battle raged like a thunderstorm

Our cannons were roaring on the hillside

The enemy was down upon its knees

But a swift riposte made us count the cost

As the west wind whispered in the trees

We fell back to safety in our compound

With the enemy chasing close behind

We had left it late as we slammed the gate

But we couldn’t shut them out of our mind

And we watched them swarming up the hillside

They had a flag that fluttered in the breeze

Our cannons replied, and many men died

As the west wind whispered in the trees

They prepared to set ablaze the compound

They called to us ‘surrender or you burn’

But we all cheered as our Seventh appeared

It was then that the wind began to turn

And we charged like madmen down the hillside

And we showed them the nature of the beast

When the day was done, the battle was won

As the wind came howling from the east

Join the Conversation

1 Comment