The Nuclear Rain


I am lying on this hillside

underneath the nuclear rain

The radioactive fallout

is feeding on my brain

I’m now the sole survivor

of a world that went insane

I am sighing on this hillside

underneath the nuclear rain

The birds of midnight droned

their grim requiem of death

Their bellies held destruction

and the world held its breath

Then satan’s manic mushroom

formed a cloud before our eyes

Which billowed up from hell

and spread across the skies

We were all found to be guilty

when it came to judgment day

We were given a death sentence

and we blew ourselves away

Now the noxious acid gases

from the chemical attack

Permeate the atmosphere

 and turn our rivers black

I am crying on this hillside

for the sadness of our fate

The consequence of hatred

we all failed to contemplate

I have a splitting headache

and I’m doubled up in pain

I am dying on this hillside

underneath the nuclear rain

Join the Conversation

2 Comments